AFSCME’s Candidate for Governor Wins DFL Endorsement

DFL & AFSCME-endorsed Gubernatorial candidate Erin Murphy
DFL & AFSCME-endorsed Gubernatorial candidate Erin Murphy

The DFL has endorsed state Rep. Erin Murphy for governor.

Murphy started out neck and neck with U.S. Rep. Tim Walz in early voting, with State Auditor Rebecca Otto a distant third. Murphy gained steadily in each round of voting, and was less than two percentage points shy of the needed 60 percent when Walz dropped out.

Delegates voted Murphy in by acclamation and rushed to the stage yelling, “We did it!”  Our candidate for governor won with strong Council 5 backing – we had 83 delegates and 74 alternates.

A jubilant Murphy danced on stage and pumped her fist in victory before thanking delegates and telling them what an honor the endorsement was.

Together, she said, Minnesotans can protect health care, labor, and a woman’s right to choose; can stop gun violence in schools; and build a kind of politics that improves lives.

“Today is the day we’re going to unify our fellow Democrats,” she told the crowd, adding it was essential to share a full and honest vision with the people of Minnesota. “Together, we are unstoppable.”

Walz is the only DFL candidate who said he would not abide by the party’s endorsement, and he’s expected to run in the August primary. So will Republican Tim Pawlenty, who skipped seeking the GOP endorsement, which was won by Jeff Johnson.

AFSCME Council 5 endorsed Murphy after an intensive process of gathering input from members. AFSCME spent two months meeting with union locals across the state to determine what traits and values are most important in a Governor; had one-on-one conversations with members; and gave members a chance to meet informally with candidates in small groups in several cities. These conversations informed the candidates’ questionnaire and AFSCME’s legislative priorities this session, and they ultimately guided the Executive Board’s endorsement.

State Rep. Erin Murphy is a nurse and former lobbyist, organizer and executive director of the Minnesota Nurses Association. She serves on the House Health and Human Services Finance Committee, and the Ways and Means Committee. She’s former Majority Leader of the Minnesota House.